Very important blog posting about Orange Shirt Day from our friend Blog Woman

Blog Woman!!! - Life Uncategorized

It’s not often I re-post a story, but in addition to explaining the background of what September 30th – “Orange Shirt Day” means to me and my family, I wanted to add the story of the person who was behind the creation of this campaign.

My son and I, proud to acknowledge the survival of our family and all the others of us who've made it too... Kisakihitin... My son and I, proud to acknowledge the survival of our family and all the others of us who’ve made it too… Kisakihitin…

Orange Shirt Day, is an Every Child Matters awareness campaign created to honor, and in respect of, all the children taken from Indigenous families and forced to attend Residential Schools in Canada and the U.S. between 1879 and 1996.  These schools were created to complete the attempt to eradicate ‘the Indian’ out of the children, the intent to fully rid the continent of its Indigenous Peoples.

In my family, we had five children enter a Residential School in Northern Alberta -Grouard. Three of them never came…

View original post 620 more words